ABOUT THE COUNCIL

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

OUR VISION

Urban public schools exist to teach students to the highest standards of educational excellence. As the primary American institution responsible for weaving the strands of our society into a cohesive fabric, we — the leaders of America's Great City Schools — see a future where the nation cares for all children, expects their best, appreciates their diversity, invests in their futures, and welcomes their participation in the American dream.

The Great City Schools are places where this vision becomes tangible and those ideals are put to the test. We pledge to commit ourselves to the work of advancing empathy, equity, justice, and tolerance, and we vow to do everything we can to vigorously resist the forces of ignorance, fear, and prejudice, as we teach and guide our students. We will keep our commitments, and as we do and as society supports our endeavors, cities will become the centers of a strong and equitable nation, with urban public schools successfully teaching our children and building our communities.

OUR MISSION

It is the special mission of America's urban public schools to educate the nation's most diverse student body to the highest academic standards and prepare them to contribute to our democracy and the global community.

OUR GOALS

To educate all urban school students to the highest academic standards.

To lead, govern and manage our urban public schools in ways that advance the education of our children and inspire the public's confidence.

To build a confident, committed and supportive urban community for raising the achievement of urban public schoolchildren.

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS Executive Committee

2020-2021

OFFICERS

Chair of the Board:	Michael O'Neill, Boston School Committee
Chair-Elect:	Barbara Jenkins, Orange County Superintendent
Secretary/Treasurer:	Ashley Paz, Fort Worth School Board
Immediate Past-Chair:	Eric Gordon, Cleveland CEO

MEMBERS

Thomas Ahart, Des Moines Superintendent Siad Ali, Minneapolis School Board Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board Juan Cabrera, El Paso Superintendent Richard Carranza, New York City Chancellor Linda Cavazos, Clark County School Board Sharon Contreras, Guilford County Superintendent Susana Cordova, Denver Superintendent Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board Leslie Grant, Atlanta School Board Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Superintendent Michael Hinojosa, Dallas Superintendent William Hite, Philadelphia Superintendent Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Elisa Vakalis, Anchorage School Board Van Henri White, Rochester School Board Sylvia Wilson, Pittsburgh School Board Darrel Woo, Sacramento School Board Vacancy

Ex Officio Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College School of Education

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS Board of Directors (October 2020)

CITY **SUPERINTENDENTS BOARD MEMBERS** Albuquerque Scott Elder David Peercy Anchorage Deena Bishop Elisa Vakalis Arlington Marcelo Cavazos Kecia Mays Leslie Grant Atlanta Lisa Herring Kyla Armstrong-Romero Aurora Rico Munn Geranimo Rodriguez Austin Stephanie Elizalde Sonja Santelises Martha James-Hassan Baltimore Birmingham Mark Sullivan Daagye Hendricks Boston Brenda Cassellius Michael O'Neill Bridgeport Michael Testani Joseph Sokolovic Broward County Robert Runcie Laurie Rich Levinson Buffalo Kriner Cash Sharon Belton-Cottman Charleston Gerrita Postlewait Eric Mack Charlotte-Mecklenburg Earnest Winston Elyse Dashew Chicago Janice Jackson Sendhil Revuluri Cincinnati Laura Mitchell Melanie Bates Clark County Jesus Jara Linda Cavazos Eric Gordon Cleveland Denise Link Columbus Talisa Dixon Jennifer Adair Dallas Michael Hinojosa Justin Henry William E. Harris Dayton Elizabeth Lolli Denver Susana Cordova Carrie Olson Des Moines Thomas Ahart Kyrstin Delagardelle Nikolai Vitti Iris Taylor Detroit **Duval County** Diana Greene Lori Hershey El Paso Bob Geske Juan Cabrera Fort Worth Kent Scribner Ashley Paz Fresno Robert Nelson Valerie Davis Guilford County Sharon Contreras Byron Gladden Hawaii Department of Education Catherine Pavne Christina Kishimoto Hillsborough County Tamara Shamburger Addison Davis Judith Cruz Houston Grenita Lathan Indianapolis Aleesia Johnson Elizabeth Gore Jackson Errick Greene Barbara Hilliard Jefferson County Martin Pollio Diane Porter Kansas City Mark Bedell Nate Hogan Jill Baker Felton Williams Long Beach Los Angeles Kelly Gonez Austin Beutner Manchester John Goldhardt Joyce Craig Lawrence Feldman Miami-Dade County Alberto Carvalho Larry Miller Milwaukee Keith Poslev Siad Ali Minneapolis Ed Graff Nashville Adrienne Battle Rachael Anne Elrod Josephine Garcia Newark Roger Leon N/A New Orleans Henderson Lewis Jr. New York City **Richard Carranza** N/A Sharon Byrdsong Rodney Jordan Norfolk Kyla Johnson-Trammell Jumoke Hinton-Hodge Oakland Sean McDaniel Paula Lewis Oklahoma City Cheryl Logan Shavonna Holman Omaha

Orange County Palm Beach County Philadelphia Pinellas County Pittsburgh Portland Providence Puerto Rico Richmond Rochester Sacramento St. Louis St. Paul San Antonio San Diego San Francisco Santa Ana Seattle Shelby County (Memphis) Stockton Toledo Toronto Tulsa Washington, D.C. Washoe County Wichita

Barbara Jenkins Donald Fennov William Hite, Jr. Michael Grego Anthony Hamlet Guadalupe Guerrero Harrison Peters Eligio Hernández Pérez Jason Kamras Lesli Myers-Small Jorge Aguilar Kelvin Adams Joe Gothard Pedro Martinez Cindy Marten Vincent Matthews Jerry Almendarez Denise Juneau Joris Ray Brian Biedermann (Interim) Romules Durant Kathy Witherow Deborah Gist Lewis Ferebee Kristen McNeill Alicia Thompson

Teresa Jacobs Marcia Andrews Joyce Wilkerson Carol Cook Sylvia Wilson Amy Kohnstamm Nicholas Hemond N/A Linda Owen Van Henri White Darrel Woo Joyce Roberts Jeanelle Foster Patti Radle John Lee Evans Mark Sanchez Valerie Amezcua Chandra Hampson Kevin Woods Kathleen Garcia Robert Vasquez N/A Shawna Keller N/A Marlena Raymond Ron Rosales

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

Staff

Michael Casserly, Executive Director Teri Trinidad, Director of Administration, Finance & Conferences Alisa Adams, Finance Manager Marilyn Banks, Administrative Assistant Michell Yorkman, Manager of Conferences and Partnerships Alexis Vann, Manager of Conferences Gregory Bacon, Administrative and Conference Specialist Jeff Simering, Director of Legislation Julie Beth Halbert, Legislative Counsel Manish Naik, Legislative Manager Gabriela Uro, Director of ELL Policy & Research David Chi-Wai Lai, Special Projects Manager Tonya Harris, Director of Communications Joanne Coley, Communications Manager Kalin Hicks, Communications Intern Raymond Hart, Director of Research Renata Lyons, Research Manager Moses Palacios, Legislative and Research Manager Eric Vignola, Manager of Software Engineering Ricki Price-Baugh, Director of Academic Achievement Denise Walston, Director of Mathematics Robin Hall, Director of Language Arts and Literacy Robert Carlson, Director of Management Services AJ Crabill, Director of Governance Amanda Corcoran, Special Projects Manager